Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Grid display issue

tkdiff
I am new to FEATool, so please forgive my lack of understanding.  I was evaluating the latest version (1.12) using Matlab 2019b, and was manually going through the steps for the example problem Fluid Structure Interaction - Elastic Beam.  When I followed the tutorial exactly, everything worked properly.  However, at the end of the tutorial, it indicated that "one could use a finer grid along the cylinder and beam boundaries, as well as higher order elements".  
First, it is not obvious to me how to use higher order elements using the internal mesher and solver.  When I tried to mesh with gmsh, it yielded an error.
Second, when I went back and tried to refine the grid, either by using the refine button or manually changing the element size in settings, it seemed to execute but there was no grid display.
Are these software issues or my lack of understanding how to use the software.  
Thanks for any help
Tom
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Grid display issue

Leon Robers
This post was updated on .
Hi

In FEATool, the element order or the shape function order respectively is indicated with 'sflag1' for first order discretization and 'sflag2' for second order. To change between those two, there are two ways:

In the FEA-Tool Gui, go to the equation tab. There you have a field with "FEM-Discretization". As you change it from "first order conforming" to "second order conforming", you will see the change in the right field from "sflag1" to "sflag2" which is done automatically.

In Matlab, it is nearly as straight forward. In the tutorial you specify some strings directly at the beginning, which will later be used for the property assignment of the shape function and some other things:

cOptDef = { 'sf_u',     'sflag1';
             'sf_p',     'sflag1';...