classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
11 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Add Lorentz force to CFD simulation

Marco Passoni
Dear,

i have a molten metal bath with cilindrical shape and induction heating, from electromagnetic simulation i know the Lorentz forces field.

I would like to simulate the metal movement, is it possible to import the force field into the simulation?

Sorry for my bad simulation of the question, i am new in CFD problems, thanks in advance for understanding.

Marco  

Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Add Lorentz force to CFD simulation

Precise Simulation
Administrator
Marco Passoni wrote
i have a molten metal bath with cilindrical shape and induction heating, from electromagnetic simulation i know the Lorentz forces field.

I would like to simulate the metal movement, is it possible to import the force field into the simulation?
This sounds like a quite difficult simulation, and if you need to account for moving boundaries, possible melting and solidification then FEATool is not really a suitable software.

That said, if you have measured data (such as your forces) you can create user defined coeffcient functions (Fx, Fy, Fz) where you would interpolate your data to the computational mesh used in the simulation. A 2D example is available in the documentation

https://www.featool.com/doc/physics#phys_coef_user
Reply | Threaded
|

Marco Passoni
Dear,

it looks wonderful, many thanks for the feedback.

So, i have run the tutorial Axisymmetric Fluid flow, i changed the boundry condition of inlet/velocity into  wall/no slip and i get the fluid without movement, this was ok.

After this, i try to put into Fr anf Fz fields constants or simple functions but there is no way to see movement of the fluid.

I have misunderstood your suggestions? Do i have to edit equations?

Thanks again for help.

Best regards
Marco
Equation setting
Reply | Threaded
|

Precise Simulation
Administrator